13th Judicial Circuit, Mobile County, Alabama HomepageJudgesJuror InformationCourt InformationFormsMobile County Clerk of CourtLinks

Circuit CriminalCircuit CivilDomestic RelationsDistrict CriminalDistrict Civil & Small Claims

Mobile County Clerk’s Office - Domestic Relations Division

Tachonda Smith - Deputy Clerk, Domestic Relations Division
Phone: (251) 574-8441 • tachonda.smith@alacourt.gov
Room C 909 • 205 Government Street • Mobile, Alabama 36644-2909

Effective September 8, 2008, all filings with the Clerk’s Office must comply with the following checklist:

Uncontested Divorce with children

HS-16 Certificate of Divorce (Vital Statistics)
Information Sheet (CS-47)
Petition for Divorce
Custody Affidavit (if applicable)
Answer & Waiver
Commissioner’s Certificate w/Affidavit of Testimonies Agreement
Statement of Non-Representation (if applicable)**
Child Support Guideline Forms (CS-41s, CS-42 and CS-43)
Divorce Decree(w/paragraphs required by law and local Judges’ requirements)
Income Withholding Order
Uncontested Divorce without children

HS-16, Certificate of Divorce (Vital Statistics)
Information Sheet (CS-47)
Petition for Divorce
Answer & Waiver
Commissioner’s Certificate w/Affidavit of Testimonies Agreement
Statement of Non-Representation (if applicable)**
Divorce Decree
** If there is only one attorney involved in an uncontested proceeding, a Notice of Non-Representation Party/Right to counsel shall be filed.

Contested Divorce with children

HS-16, Certificate of Divorce (Vital Statistics)
Information Sheet (CS-47)
Petition for Divorce (2 copies)##
Income Withholding Order
Contested Divorce-No Children

HS-16, Certificate of Divorce(Vital Statistics)
Information Sheet (CS-47)
Petition For Divorce (2 copies) ##
## Any discovery & any other motion & motion cover sheet if applicable ##
** In no manner can the Clerk’s Office give legal advice.  The above documents are to be used as legal information only! **

**The Clerk’s Office can not assist you in completing and/or giving the legal language these documents must contain.**

**Information regarding forms may be found on the websites http://www.alabamalegalhelp.org and http://13jc.alacourt.gov/.


Compliance with Rule 11 of the Alabama Rules of Civil Procedure:
"Every pleading, motion or other paper of a party represented by an attorney shall be signed by at least one attorney of record in the attorney’s individual name, whose address shall be stated.  A party who is not represented by an attorney shall sign the pleading, motion, or other paper, and state the party’s address."

Additionally: Attorneys shall include their attorney code and trial date on pleadings.
Costs
NEW DIVORCE $208.00
POST MOTION $311.00
POST MOTIONS (CROSS CLAIM) $311.00
DEFAULT JUDGMENTS$50.00
CERT. MAIL$10.00
SUBPOENAS$12.00
each
SUB. WAGE$10.00
NEW WAGE$28.00
TERM. WAGE$28.00
GARNISHMENTS$30.00
EXECUTIONS$30.00
APPEALS$200.00
Payable to Court of Civil Appeals
Certified Mail, Effective March 1, 2012
1st Class Certified Mail  1st Class Certified Mail Restricted Delivery
1 -2 oz. letter: $5.95$10.50
3rd oz. letter: $6.15$10.70
4th oz. flat: $6.80$10.90
5th oz. flat: $7.00$11.55
6th oz. flat: $7.20$11.75
7th oz. flat: $7.40$11.95
8th oz. flat: $7.60$12.15
9th oz. flat: $7.80$12.35
10th oz. flat: $8.00$12.55
11th oz. flat: $8.20$12.75
12th oz. flat: $8.40$12.95
13th oz. flat: $8.60$13.15